This post contains references to services from our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to visit the bookmakers and other services featured. For an explanation of our advertising policy, visit this page.

4 Nations

4 Nations
Inaugurated: 2009
Nations: England, Australia, New Zealand, Qualifier
Most Titles: Australia
Last Tournament: 2016
Next Tournament: TBC
Next Host: TBC

Previews Predictions Odds Scores

4 Nations Rugby League

Unfortunately the 2016 4 Nations that was held in England and Scotland was the last edition of the tournament and their does not seem to be much hurry to organise another one, despite the huge popularity with fans.

England, New Zealand, and Australia all qualified automatically for past tournaments, with the winners of the European Cup joining them for events held in the Northern Hemisphere and winners of the Pacific Cup joining the trio in the Southern Hemisphere ran events.

Where To Bet On Rugby League 4 Nations Tournaments

As one of the leading international tournaments on the calendar, when it takes place!!!, it is no surprise that the best bookmakers offer a wide range of betting markets for all aspects of the 4 nations including tournament outright’s and individual match markets.

As with everything, some bookies are better than others, so here is out choice of the best online bookmakers for betting on the 4 Nations rugby tournament.

Rugby League Bookies
Bet365 *Super League
*Challenge Cup
Registration and deposited account needed. 18+ only. You Must Be Aged 18 Years Old and Over Bet Now (18+ #ad)
Coral *Super League
*Challenge Cup
Registration and deposited account needed. 18+ only. You Must Be Aged 18 Years Old and Over Bet Now (18+ #ad)

What is the 4 Nations?

The 4 Nations is a Rugby League tournament which features the top 3 nations in the world and 1 qualifier for each event. Each tournament is organised in a round-robin format where each teams plays each other once.

The teams are awarded 2 points for a win, 1 point for a draw and 0 for a loss.

The top 2 teams after each have played their round-robin matches play in the final to determine the 4 Nations champions.

Rugby League 4 Nations

The Rugby League 4 Nations has taken over from where the Tri-Nations finished and has made huge strides forward in terms of attendances, action on the field and raising awareness off of it.

Featuring England, Australia and New Zealand, as well as the European Champions When played in the Northern Hemisphere) or the Pacific Champions When played in the Southern Hemisphere), the 4 Nations is one of International Rugby League biggest tournaments, second only to the World Cup and is played with an intensity that is hard to match.

With the vast majority of the world’s greatest Rugby League players playing in the tournament, 100’s of thousands of spectators in attendance and millions watching around the world, it’s no surprise that there is huge interest in the 4 Nations and especially betting on 4 Nations action.

4 Nations History

The Rugby League 4 Nations was first inaugurated in 2009 to replace the Tri-Nations tournament that featured the Great Britain Lions, the Australia Kangaroos, and New Zealand Kiwis.

The addition of an extra club allowed for 2 matches to be played every round and a 2nd tier nation to challenge themselves against the big 3.

The Tri-Nations event was only established in 1999 when it was a warm up event of sorts for the upcoming World Cup but after early struggles for GB in warm up events and the lack of interest overall in International competitions from Australian fans, the tournaments faced an uphill battle to succeed and in the end the Australian hosted event saw the final moved to New Zealand where it was the Kangaroos that ran out 22-20 winners against the Kiwis in a thrilling final at Mount Smart Stadium in the New Zealand capital city of Auckland.

There was a gap of 5 years before the next event which was hosted by England and featured an Australia vs Great Britain final but once again it was the Aussies who ran out the winners by 44-4 at Elland Road.

The next event, again hosted in England, was played the next season where it was New Zealand who pulled off a shock win against Australia in the final and even kept the Kangaroos scoreless in a 24-0 win, once again at Elland Road.

The next event took place in 2006 and was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, so it was apt that the 2 sides met in the final played at the Sydney Rectangular Stadium (then known as the Aussie Stadium), where the Kangaroos once again ran out the winners by 14 points to 12 in another thriller that went to extra time and that proved a fitting end to the tournament.

The first 4 Nations event took place in 2009 and was hosted by England and France and featured, as you would expect, France as the 4th Nation and the event also saw England take part instead of a combined Great Britain side.

Despite the change of set up, it was once again Australia that ran out the winners after defeating England 46-16 in the final.

The 201 edition was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand and featured Papua New Guinea as the 4th team in an event won by New Zealand after defeating Australia by 16-12 in the final.

The 2011 saw the teams play in England and Wales, with wales been the qualifying team and it was once again Australia that picked up the trophy after defeating England by 30-8 in the final.

It was the turn of Australia and New Zealand to host once again in 2014 for the next tournament after a break for the World Cup in an even that saw Samoa qualify as the 4th team.

Once more, New Zealand picked up a big win by defeating the Aussies in the final by 22-18.

The 2016 edition was hosted in England and featured Scotland as the 4th nation for what has so far proved to be the final edition of the event.

It was another Australia vs New Zealand final in a game that the Kangaroos defeated the Kiwis by 34-8.

Whilst it sadly does not look like their will be another tournament in the foreseeable future, the 4 nations is a tournament that will live long in the memory for fans who were around at the time and it was an event that gave us all some great memories and some fantastic International Rugby League action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Responsible Gambling
Always remember, never bet more than what you can afford to lose and make sure you set deposit limits.
Gamble Aware Gambling Care Ireland Betting is for those aged 18 and over only